Victory Tour 30 Yrs Old Today

jcool26

Proud Member
Hello my fellow MJ fans! Today marks 30 years since the magnificent Victory Tour started. Feel free to share your thoughts and opinions on this wonderful concert in this thread.

Wow, 3 DECADES passed already! I remember the announcement (Mike didn't look too happy and hindsight being 20/20, I know why) and was screaming through the house, hoping I could snag a ticket. I thought Don King was an odd choice for promoter and the ticket sales fiasco almost killed it (super expensive and could only be bought in 4 ticket blocks). That year I graduated from high school and was working part time at Mickey D's, so I knew I couldn't afford 4 tickets. Needless to say I just wished I could go. :(

My sister Chris surprised me with an early birthday/late graduation present in an envelope she decorated herself and I thought it was money at first, then I saw the tickets! I hugged her so tight I almost choked her, then ran around the house screaming again, lol!

We went to the Detroit shows (Pontiac Silverdome, where the Detroit Lions used to play) and I was a mess for the 35 min drive from Detroit. I don't remember who the opening act was and I didn't CARE! :lmao:
When the house lights went out and the stage lit up, my heart skipped a beat. It was badass the way they rose up on the platform, striking a pose, but my eyes were on Mike (he was in the middle) and then the Silverdome erupted into a roar! Chris and I were fangirling big time: she over Jermaine (eww, lol) and me over Mike. To me, this was pretty much the "THRILLER Tour" with the bros as back-up, because it was so obvious that this was more about Mike than the J5/Jacksons. Jermaine did get a solo segment, but I didn't see it. That's when I (and many others) went on a bathroom break and getting more food/drink, LMFAO!