Videos regarding claims of rape/sexual abuse, the media & biases

MJresearcher

Proud Member
This isn't specifically about MJ but he is mentioned and was used as at least partial inspiration in the first video regarding a Simpsons episode that dealt with scandals. The first video takes a look at how claims are treated and spoken about by the media and the public. The second talks about how statistics can and have been twisted and speaks about biases from both sides of the argument.

[video]http://www.zippcast.com/video/e814520dc29acd852c0[/video]

I'm a statistician and I can tell you that most of the time people get statistics completely wrong.

One thing is to nicely organise numbers and other data, another thing is dissecting what they mean. Just because two things happen to have exactly the same curve doesn't mean they are related to each other (AKA correlation doesn't imply causation).

PS: I accidentally liked your post; in fact, I find the video disgusting.

I liked what he had to say about people jumping to conclusions too quickly and his critique of the way the media handles claims about high profile people. There's a lot that needs to change. I'm not good with numbers and I'm not trained in how to interpret them so I tend to leave that side of things alone.

Just to put some things in perspective:

Jailed-rapists%20December%202014.jpg

Source: https://rainn.org/get-information/statistics/reporting-rates

There aren't many peer reviewed studies that have been done on the prevalence of false reports and the ones we do have consist of small sample sizes and the numbers are conflicting. Realistically I don't think we're ever likely to obtain an accurate number due to the fact that it's very difficult to both prove or disprove a claim.

Last edited: