The Origins of Rock 'n' Roll

Bob George

Proud Member
Rock 'n' Roll, the start of a revolution, the origin of the popular music we listen to today. Where did it come from? Who did it come from? These a questions that have sparked much debate amongst music critics and rock historians. It recently cropped up in a thread about Chuck Berry. So I thought I'd give a bit of a history lesson on rock 'n' roll. This is not to be taken as a 100% accurate recount of the origins of rock 'n' roll. It is merely a compilation of what I've learnt, read and heard about the origins of rock 'n' roll and everything I present as fact in this thread is open for dispute. Let's get started...

The majority of the following information comes from a great website I found that you can go to being clicking here as well as a variety of other sources including text books I have kept from when I studied music and (cover your children's eyes) Wikipedia.

Say the phrase "rock 'n' roll" in mid 20th century America and people will think you're talking about sex. But say that phrase to a sailor, as far back as the 1600s, and he'll think you're talking about boats. "Rock and roll" was a nautical term used to describe the rock (fore and aft motion) and roll (sideways motion) of a ship. This was the term's only meaning up until the early 1900s when it cropped up in gospel music and took on a religious meaning. The first known recorded example of this comes from 1916, in a minstrel recording called "The Camp Meeting Jubilee". If you download the recording you will hear the lyrics:

We've been rockin' an' rolling in your arms
Rockin' and rolling in your arms
Rockin' and rolling in your arms
In the arms of Moses