The Unfaithful and Irritating Editing of the 30th Anniversary Concerts

Snek

Premium Member
This has annoyed me for a while and I'm sharing my thoughts here to find out if anyone else feels my pain :laughing: .

The editing on the 30th Anniversary Concert video that was broadcast has some baffling editing decisions that have annoyed me ever since I watched the full amateur footage of both nights. I have never wanted to re-edit something myself so badly in my life, and I have zero experience in that field. The footage we received in the professionally shot TV special omits live vocals, chops up good sections of performances, cuts to crowd shots like a overly-excited toddler (or a Live in Bucharest editor ;)), and even messes with the appearance of certain figures on the show. Here's a quick rundown of the issues I have and what I would change for the final product.

(Not So) Live Vocals

Here's perhaps the most egregious edit of the whole TV special. Parts of the shows were sang live by Michael and then were later dubbed. Particularly, the entire Jacksons section of the show was sang completely live and is heavily dubbed in the special. Obviously Micheal (and the brothers?) was/were involved with this decison, as the dubbed vocals are freshly recorded for this concert video. But it is something that I cannot understand. The vocals were decent on the second show, at least in my opinion.

Side note: yes, the performance on the first night was a little bit all over the place. Even the most ardent MJ defender would have a hard time disputing that fact. Which is why I believe this show in pro footage should be represented 100% in September 10th footage except from Dancing Machine, which was only performed on September 7th.

Bizarrely, only Dancing Machine and I'll Be There retain Michael's original vocals 100%. The rest of the songs have live snippets scattered about in them.