MJ Porcelain Statues - a project that needs the MJ community

AlexMB

Proud Member
Dear MJ community,

I resurfaced this old thread and have joined the forum because of its topic.

Some of you might know a thing or two about the rare 1000 ''History'' MJ porcelain statues and the so called ''fake'' ones. The story is slightly different one and quite a sad one. The internet caught parts of the true story, but not fully. Some of the members in the thread touched the reality of it.

I'm a visual artist and together with my partner we are working on a short film/ partly documenting this story in the bigger scene of economical change in Eastern European countries, after the Fall of the Wall and introduction to capitalist market.

Here is a resume of this side of the project, containing on short the story:

30 de ani de Optimism is a collaborative project in progress between German artist Lisa Marie Schmitt and Romanian artist Alexandru Mihai Budes, dealing with the story of Florin Istrate who owned a porcelain business in Alba Iulia, Romania. The film project interweaves investigative-documentary material with staged studio shots, such as arrangements of objects and artifacts related to a story of economical and structural change after the revolution in 1989.

Shortly after the fall of communism Istrate was contacted by Dieter Wiesner, who later became Michael Jackson’s manager, for a commission of over 100.000 figures of the King of Pop decorated in gold and platinum.

The first batch of 1000 was called in fast by Wiesner’s orders. Some were given as presents to people being close to Michael or auctioned as rarities for charity purposes. Photos prove that even Nelson Mandela owned of one of these figurines from the so-called Carlitta Collection. Others from the batch have entered the internet auction house market soon after the star’s death – selling with as much as 2000£.