Kadir Nelson: The Many Faces of MJ

MsMo

Proud Member
By fayemi shakur

Kadir Nelson is the 36 year old artist behind the album cover art of Michael Jackson’s posthumous release, which hit stores last Tuesday. Kadir has been commissioned by publishers and production houses and is also featured in almost twenty illustrated books by authors including Debbie Allen, Ntozake Shange, and Spike and Tonya Lee. Here Kadir muses on one of his ultimate artistic dreams: creating art for MJ.

UPTOWN: Of all of your accomplishments as an artist, why is this one so significant?

KN: I am a lifelong fan of Michael Jackson. I’ve been drawing MJ since I was 8 years old. The focus of my work is to create images of people who demonstrate a sense of hope and nobility. I enjoy showing the strength and integrity of the human being and the human spirit. So it was a big thrill to get a call from Michael and have an opportunity to create something for him.

UPTOWN: How did Michael discover your work?

KN: In 2003 when Michael was recording songs for his album, Number Ones at Marvin Gaye’s recording studio he saw several of my paintings of Marvin that are hanging there. Michael was particularly taken by the painting The Life and Times of Marvin Gaye. It’s a visual story that tells the journey of Marvin’s very full life. John Nettlesby, who managed the studio, said Michael would just sit and look at the painting for hours. Then MJ asked John to call me to let me know he was going to call me. Michael said he wanted one just like it but bigger.

UPTOWN: Why did it take until now for the painting to be done?