Joe Vogel's Incredible Article on Michael Jackson and Black Music

CNB

Proud Member
Just an interesting insight into the politics of the music industry and how it reflects the racial segregation of white america. This article is just perfect and a must read for any fan of Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Prince, Duke Ellington, Little Richard, Chuck Berry, James Brown, etc.

Fascinating truly beyond words.

Only comment I'll make that you can take to the bank is that everyday of my life, since I was 10 years old Michael Jackson has been with me. When my sister and I were homeless for a few nights at the ages of 10 and 14, we had an old cassette player with us, with Michael Jackson songs we taped from the radio here in Australia (remember when you pressed record + play to tape from the radio?) and we would listen to him. He inspired us, when anyone died, when I graduated university with a High distinction average, when I walked back home from my first date with my one and only girlfriend, all those times in my life, God and Michael Jackson were with me. I'll be telling my kids one day, with hand on heart, he's the only true magic I've ever seen with my eyes.

The fact that billions *yes damn it, billions* of people thought the same, and some vocal white minority assholes have used their media exposure to break him down makes me furious. Michael deserves his credit, the greatest entertainer in history and the greatest musician. Untouchable.

http://www.theatlantic.com/entertai...stood-power-of-michael-jacksons-music/252751/